In the shadow of Tokyo Tower

A couple of weeks ago I first noticed this usually peaceful place: Zōjō-ji. Today there is the Myanmar festival happening, so it is quite packed.

image

I like this temple for it’s simpleness and elegancy, but also for it’s fabulous background.

image

Close by are almost countless decorated Buddhas. With all kind of offerings. It’s interesting to explore and find out how creative some people are.

image

I am of course no expert on Buddhism, so I don’t know what the sculptures are actually meant to represent. I also don’t know why some of them got their cap more recently, while others are already overgrown.

image

2 responses to “In the shadow of Tokyo Tower

  1. I love walking the city streets and stumbling upon old temples or pockets of nature in the midst of all the new buildings. You photos reminded me of this.

  2. Pingback: Tokyo Tower my love… | The Daily Stamp·

Leave a Reply

